Only a youth pastor would dream this…

Last night I had a dream. This is not a joke. I really dreamt everything i am writing here….

My wife and I had just received an invitation – via twitter – to spend the week with a bunch of youth pastors at Doug Fields’ house. When we arrived there, Doug’s house was a massion with a layout that I’m pretty sure matched Bill Gates home. Upon our arrival, we sat down for dinner at a ridiculously long dinner table. Seated at the table were Tim Schmoyer, Mike Kupferer, Mark Matlock, Jim Burns, Tic Long, Walt Mueller, Doug Fields, the whole fields family, and 2 other unidentifiable “small time” youth ministry people like myself.

Throughout the whole evening I tried to make really deep, insightful comments regarding all things faith related so that they would let me co-author a book or write a guest blog post. Ultimately all of my mildly insightful comments were skirted as Doug continued to make jokes the whole evening and never really set the stage for me to wow them with my depth. Thanks for ruining my shot at the big time Doug.

And then…. in typical dream fashion, a faceless killer was terrorizing my wife and I. We survived.

4 responses to this post.

  1. nice – but I think the real question is, “What cool youth group games did we play?”

    Reply

  2. So here’s your chance to say whatever you wanted to say that shows your depth! :)

    Last time I dreamed a couple things: 1) that our baby was born and we had a little girl, except her gums were in a cone shape and she had adult-sized teeth that were randomly growing in different directions, and every time I gave her a kiss, a bunch of her teeth would come off in my mouth and I’d had to spit them out like watermelon seeds. Totally weird.

    2) That I was an actor on Lost and was doing a scene with Sawyer and Kate exploring some underground ruins we found, until Adam Sandler, who was directing it, threw one of his “Happy Gilmore” fits about something and stormed off. Then somehow I was with some youth group kids in an outdoor mall that was half-closed down.

    Yeah. That’s how deep my mind goes when it’s off on it’s own. :)

    Reply

  3. Ah, don’t worry – you’re always invited to come visit my home anytime – if near D.C. let me know!

    Reply

  4. It’s funny what sort of things we youth pastors dream about. I’ve dreamed about driving out demons and leading kids to Christ. I guess that’s what I get for having a pentecostal for a dad.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

