How am I supposed to read the Bible?

Last night, a friend and I had a great discussion concerning how we were somewhat stuck in our Bible reading habits. We both desire to understand the scriptures and to learn from all of scripture, but we had trouble in getting started. She usually seems to end up reading Isaiah and I usually seem to start by reading John. Both are books that God used to “jump start” our relationship to Him.

We quickly learned that we had both attempted to get into a “read-the-Bible-in-a-year” program and i even purchased a specific bible that was broken up into daily readings. While this is a great way to ensure that a person gets through all of scripture in a year, I found the process to move too quickly. Often times there were single passages that I felt I should concentrate on and – on other days – I seemed to find very little inspiration or depth or striking.

How do you read the Bible?

***Note:I have adopted a new reading plan. I explain it here.

3 responses to this post.

  1. I have done the bible in a year deal. It was good to do, but won’t do it again–I miss too much. If I unpack three verses a day, I’m doing good. I wrote more a few weeks ago here, if you’re interested:
    http://natewatson.blogspot.com/2008/01/burden-of-storytelling.html

    Reply

  2. I read it a book at a time. If it’s a letter I read it like I would reading a letter – all at once. Then I can go back and dig into each chapter. If it’s the historical parts I tend to read about the main person involved, until that person changes – to get h/her story down. When I was in highschool I learned to read a chapter per day in Proverbs. When I can’t find words to pray, I pray the Psalms. Prophecy is a special love so I like to go through the Prophets and Revelation lots. I have found the Lev., Num., and Deut. really tough to get through. I usually see them as reference material – probably shouldn’t, but I do.

    Just read, you won’t find a better book out there.

    I’ve found Precept Bible Studies to be a great way of learning to dig in, deep. The structure it gives is also a good discipline.

    Blessings to you, Michelle.

    Reply

  3. michelle.
    thanks.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

