You can’t walk through a library without….

OK. So I am supposed to be finding sources for my senior research paper. I’m a senior at Taylor University and I’m writing my senior paper on “Inviting and Developing Young Adults as Mentors in a Senior High Church Ministry.” Maybe that sounds boring. Maybe interesting. I’d say this: the content is interesting, the form is boring.

This task keeps me scurrying about the library looking for Dewey decimals and call numbers. I just spent the last hour scanning the shelves. I found 14 books that appeared to be helpful, but – after checking out the table of contents for each book – I only ended up walking out with 6.

While i’m looking for a specific book, i usually scan the spines of the books surrounding the sought after book. This usually helps me find the book, but many times it gets me very very distracted. As you’ll see here….

While scanning spines of books, I undoubtably become drawn to one. Maybe because of design, or title, or author, or relevance to my senior paper. But each time, I end up picking up and thumbing through various books.

Here are the books I stumbled on by totally random chance that I’ll be reading in the next few days:

Tonight. I’m deciding to read a couple of books I selected. I started with four random books, but narrowed it down to 2. They both seem pretty interesting. I’ve learned to give myself permission to not finish a book, so if either of them proves to be slow or irrelevant….I’m out.

One response to this post.

  1. “They both seem pretty interesting. I’ve learned to give myself permission to not finish a book, so if either of them proves to be slow or irrelevant….I’m out.”

    The very definition of research!

    And don’t just stick to the library. I’m sure your campus library has access to some online resources for research where you can find journal abstracts that may help in your research. This information will be more up to date and may provide the numbers you need to back up your propositions.

    Best . . .

    Brian

    Reply

Leave a Reply

