disagreement.

today I spent several hours talking with my dad.

See, my dad works in student ministry. he loves students (particularly jr. high).

and my dad is old. at least to me. i’m young. at least to him.

and we disagree a ton. I think he’s way too old school. even legalistic. he admits it and says “maybe i’m being too legalistic”

and we disagree a ton. He thinks I’m way too “liberal” and irreverant. even unbiblical. I admit it and say “I know I’m young and inexperienced.”

we disagree a ton. as we talked through ministry, we see nearly every issue in a different light.

yet we love.

This conversation remained gentle, loving, encouraging, and deep. Never did one of us get defensive. We both admitted wrong thinking.

May the Church lead the way in disagreeing. We ought to be a model for the world in disagreement which results in love.

2 responses to this post.

  1. I completely agree. My dad and I discuss all sort of things, and many times we are on polar opposite ends. We disagree a lot, but keep it civil and continue to respect each other. B/c in the end it’s not about winning the argument, it’s about building each other up in love. We are under the same God and were saved by the same Jesus.

    As Paul said in Ephesians 4:
    Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace. There is one body and one Spirit—just as you were called to one hope when you were called— one Lord, one faith, one baptism; one God and Father of all, who is over all and through all and in all.

    Reply

  2. Great post man, very touching.

    “may the church lead the way in disagreeing”…wise, and quotable.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

