Day 3

Day 3 of 7. I’m fasting soda every day. Also, I’m spending time doing devotions in nature.

Today was another great day. I’m goint to have to admit it, these students are changing my life.

Soda: I didn’t realize how much better I feel when i don’t drink soda. I haven’t had a soda in 3 days and I feel so so so much better. I even ate trash today for lunch, but it is soda that just sits in my gut for hours and makes me feel crappy. This may be the beginning of something glorious. Also, i’m remembering that God is the source of my energy and endurance and not caffeine. I think about God a lot more. I prayed to get through a workout today and it ended up being awesome. I don’t know what’s going on with my bodies chemistry, but it’s beautiful.

Devotions in the woods: Today, i didn’t have a lot of time to spend so I was afraid that it would be hollow. I read from Isaiah and found the woods to be very peaceful and refreshing. I almost forgot about the rush hour traffic that was less than a mile away.

Today this hit me: Nature reveals something about creation and our Creator that humanity has seemed to lose. In the forest, there seems to be this very delicate balance amongst creatures and plants. When a leaf or tree or frog dies, nutrients (life) flows from the dead organism and feeds the living. And not only does nature care for itself in death, but simply by living organisms nurish one another. Trees pump out oxygen, bees polinate flowers which provide food for the bee.

Humanity, it seems, tries to take without giving. We want something and we forget that there is a price being paid for our comfort/convenience/profit/efficiency/etc. I think we would do well (for our own benefit) to remember that we are part of a planet. That we were created by a Creator to be a part of this environment.

Leave a Reply

