haunted by a phrase

There have comes times in my life where God has inspired me with a phrase. That phrase seems to drive the way I think about a lot of things.

When i was in high school, there were several phrases. One was Jesus’ statement in the book of John: “I came that they may have and enjoy life, and have it in abundance (to the full, till it overflows).” Another one was this quote, “No one is useless who lightens the burdens of others.”

In college, the question – posed to me by Francis Chan – was “Do you REALLY want to know what God would do with your life if you gave Him complete control.” and then there is a line from a Coldplay song: “Give me real, don’t give me fake.”

These phrases have guided my thinking. I’ll never forget them. They come to mind often.

Well, last night God gave me another one: “We have to leave behind the security of who we have become, and go to the place of who we are becoming.”

I heard this on a TED talk: John Francis walks the Earth: A TED talk.

I’ll write more about it later.

Leave a Reply

