my heartbeat for my job

i was asked to write down how i’d like to see our student ministry move in the year 2009:

I want to see students and adult leaders fall in love with Jesus. I want them to hunger for God. I want them to be all-out followers of Christ. I want them to be on fire (not lukewarm). I want to see students and adult leaders embrace and pursue Christ for a lifetime. But more specifically….

I want to see students and adult leaders grow a heart for reaching their friends. I want to see our influence extend past our own little youth group. I want to see visitors feel welcome on our Sunday evenings. I want to see students feel a burden for connecting their friends with Jesus.

I want to see students and adult leaders grow a heart for “the least of these.” I want them to feel a burden for their peers who are going through rough family times, for the friend who gets made fun of, for the kid who sits alone at lunch, and for the kid in Haiti who wishes he had food for lunch.

I want to see excitement about Current (our Sr. High Group) and Roots (our Jr. High Group) build. I want whatever we do to be remarkable: either remarkably fun, or remarkably simple, or remarkably communal, or remarkably relevant, or remarkably connected with God. I want to be so remarkable that our ministry grows as our story gets told and retold.

Leave a Reply

