the woman caught in adultry

I find myself referencing this story a ton.

So this woman gets caught in the act of sleeping around; adultery.  The rule was that any woman caught in adultery is to be stoned. So the Pharisees (the pastors of the day), bring an adulterous woman to Jesus and ask him what to do. They were testing him. Jesus does some really creative thinking and tells them that whoever hasn’t sinned can cast the first stone. They all walk away….

Cool Story.

But here is the thing. Jesus disobeys the Bible. There was a rule. God had communicated something to his people, but Jesus doesn’t carry it out. In fact – for all that we know – he merely tells her that he doesn’t condemn her and to go and sin no more.

Let me repeat this: Jesus tells a sluty woman that he doesn’t condemn her. And then he tells her to knock it off.

OK. Fair enough.

But how in the heck am I supposed to read the rules in the Bible. How am I supposed to tell people what is right and wrong when Jesus is doing thing that are “unbiblical.”

It’s hard. It’s messy. I’m sure I’m not right on everything. I don’t have a monopoly on truth. I have to research stuff. I have to reread scripture. I have to read whole books of the Bible and not just verses or chapters.

And I think that’s the point. The point is that it’s a long journey. It’s a lifelong struggle to find and live truth. It’s a lifelong walk to get to know and love God more.

and i think that’s the point.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Jesus has the authority to break the rules. He is Christ, son of the living God. He can only do what the Father does, and can only see what the Father sees.

    Slutty woman = obviously unrighteous.

    But what is righteousness? The rules that we follow, and need to follow in loving obedience! Are not what make us righteous, but it is the God of all that chooses to love us.

    Jesus makes the woman righteous by forgiving her. The law was about being right with God to begin with, not about the rule itself. God simply says “I love you more than I hate what you do. Now that you know that, walk with me and be loved.”

    Thats how I see it.

    Rules = prescriptions to follow on the way to healing.
    Jesus = God who hears and heals.

    Reply

  2. Think about Rahab. She lied about the whereabouts of the Israelite spies to the authorities. Not only was she not punished she was glorified by God.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

