The Fountainhead

I’ve been reading Ayn Rand’s work, The Fountainhead, lately. The bad thing about reading great literature is that it makes all other reading quite boring. For instance, I was reading both Rand’s The Foundainhead and The Total Money Makeover by Dave Ramsey. I’ll let you guess which one seemed to get boring pretty quickly. 

And here is my thought for “Christian artists.” You’re losing the battle for attention: the battle for beauty. You’re producing such mundane and boring expressions of beauty that the rest of the world has taken up the cause. 

Example: I grew up listening to CCM (dc Talk, Michael W. Smith, Newsboys, Rebecca St. James), but quickly felt guilty for my fond interest in secular music. During my high school years, I battled with the idea that I was filling my head with “bad things” while listening to secular songs. More than once i swore off secular music and deleted all of my secular songs from my computer. 

So what happened.

CCM filled my head with “uplifting lyrics” and mundane art. I get to college and BOOM. A whole new world of music is opened up to me. I met people who had a favorite band that I’d never heard of. Some of the most solid people I knew loved Radiohead. What am I supposed to do with that?

Christianity, teach your young people about beauty. They might not understand it now, but they sure as heck will in college.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Have you read Anthem?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

