Books you should read

I think I’ve made a list similar to this in the past, but I’m going to do it again. Buy these books. Read them. Eat them. Absorb the nutrients, discard the waste….. OK. That’s enough.

-these books are important to me:

  • The Secret Message of Jesus – Some people think McLaren is a heretic, some don’t. Who cares, I think this book rocks. Changed my faith.
  • How People Grow – Cloud and Townsend are golden. They write great stuff that is SO applicable if your ministry is about helping people grow. Every minister and small group leader ought to read this gem.
  • Youth Ministry 3.0 – Marko writes a manifesto for the future of youth ministry. Sign me up.
  • Sex God – Rob Bell sets the framework for sexuality and relationships.
  • The Great Emergence – Phyllis Tickle paints the past in giant brushstrokes and shows us how faith and culture emerge and change.
  • Revisiting Relational Youth Ministry – If you work for Young Life or Youth for Christ, don’t read it. You’ll either quit your job or hate the entire book.
  • Wild at Heart – Some people hate this book. I loved it. Read it 3 times.
  • Tribes – Seth Godin is golden. Everyone knows it. Deal with it.
  • Death by Meeting – This book made me rethink what by beliefs about the “norms” of office life.
  • Cradle to Cradle – Every government in the world should make this book a law. Would solve all the environment problems in one swoop. Heaven will look like the cities described in this book.
  • Contemplative Youth Ministry – Read this book twice. I wish my ministry looked more like this.
  • Your Money or Your Life – A foundational book about understanding money and resources.
  • The Total Money Makeover – Dave Ramsey is an icon i look to for so many reasons.
3 responses to this post.

  1. OH. and I forgot to mention. I would love some book suggestions from my readers. Leave me some…..

    Reply

  2. Posted by Chris on May 5, 2009 at 7:38 am

    Phyllis Tickle spoke at my church last sunday. She’s pretty amazing and hilarious.

    On the McLaren front I’d have to say that A New Kind of Christian really helped me navigate through some of the doubts I was having with the Church.

    Also, go read The Divine Conspiracy. Willard’s grasp on the Bible and philosophy is astounding and life-changing.

    Reply

  3. Not quite as life changing, but, “Better Safe than Sued” really helped me as a young youth pastor.

    In the “Wild at Heart” vein I am a big fan of their first book “The Sacred Romance.” I read it often, just to remember.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

