Prayer

I was just reading my favorite ex-christian blog and came across a post about an individual’s de-conversion. They wrote that they “didn’t feel anything when they prayed.”

Well, sometimes I don’t either (i hope this is OK for me to say). Sometimes I talk to God and ask lots of stuff. Sometimes I’m intent on sitting and listening and He doesn’t seem to say anything. I wonder if my prayers are answered or if He’s really working on things.

Hear this: sometimes I doubt whether God is working on the things I think He ought to be working on.

Sometimes I look at the world around me and think, “God, what the heck is going on. Innocent people are suffering. Why?”

Sometimes I look around the church and say, “God, there are so many knuckleheads filling the church on Sunday morning, can’t you bring others?”

I just wanted to get that out there. Hopefully someone is reading this blog and may realize, “I have doubts, but God allows doubts. Doubts give us a direction to strive for.”

2 responses to this post.

  1. What do you say when God never seems to answer your prayers? I appreciate healthy doubt as well but how do we find assurance that there is actually someone listening at all?

    Reply

  2. @eggshellman

    I frequently run into this and I was frustrated until I heard Rick Lawrence talk about his book, “Jesus-Centered Youth Ministry.”

    In that book, Rick reminds us that the Bible and Prayer aren’t revolving around us, around mankind. Humans are the main charachters, we’re supporting casts.

    SO

    As I read the Bible and pray, I ought to be focused on God and learning more about him and less about myself. I don’t read the Bible to know what I should do, I read the Bible to learn more about God.

    It is a subtle difference, but it still transforms the way I interact in prayer and Bible reading.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

