i’m TICKED!

I just read about Seth Godin’s MBA program. It was free. It was extremely selective. It was all about growth.

WHY THE HECK DON’T ALL COLLEGES/SCHOOLS/MBA PROGRAMS opporate like this?

I was frustrated as heck at taylor university. I’m not sure about any other majors, but i know my BA in Christian Educational Ministries was essentially a $30k a year book club. We simply read a ton of different books – most of which could be found on the racks of your typical Christian book store.

Why was/is there no emphasis on simply “doing” ministry? Why not learn via success and failure in a semi-controlled environment?

WHY? WHY? WHY? WHY?

There are many of you who have summer interns or an opportunity to teach others. Newsflash, reading books insn’t the secret to success (though it ought to be asssumed). Instead, focus on doing, evaluating, and doing again.

This makes me think about teaching students to practice their faith…. More to come.

4 responses to this post.

  1. I feel your pain.
    While I’m not a huge Godin fan, my seminary education was over rated and that at an inflated part. If anything, it lead me away from “the ministry.”

    Reply

  2. Maybe we should start with our own churches by creating learning opportunities for ministry. I think this is a much better way to do it than farming it out to colleges, seminaries, etc. They have their own value, but why not learn how to sky dive in the air?

    Reply

  3. I think someone wrote about this recently. 😉

    I hear ya, brother. Just today I had a fruitful conversation with someone, and it looks like soon and very soon there will be some great alternatives for you to continue your education for little to no cost. And it will serve you in your current ministry context.

    If and when this comes to fruition, I’m sure I’ll blog about it.

    Reply

  4. Also, I think you need to fix your link. It takes you to emergingyouth.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

