A practice in getting offline

I’m going to do a little experiment. I’m going to try to get offline as much as possible. I twitter, have facebook, email, blog reading, and browsing a few random websites can turn into a large chunk of time in front of a computer screen and connected to life online. Marko totally eliminated his online presence and I’ve considered doing it several times, so I’m just going to take a shot at scaling back in pretty big ways.

I’ll still pump out blog content, interact on facebook, and tweet regularly. I’m just going to work real hard at spending less time sitting at my desk looking at my computer screen.

We’ll see how this goes.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by justinjoyner on June 11, 2009 at 12:41 pm

    what’s your plan? I could use the same exercise and would love some accountability from far away 😉

    Reply

  2. hmm… interesting, but why? i mean, what makes you want to unplug, and what will you spend your non-computer time doing?

    Reply

  3. I’m going to explain more of the “why” tomorrow and give a bit more detailed explanation as to my plan.

    Reply

  4. For myself, I’m realizing that I need to have blocks of time where I’m offline, as in 3-6 hours. Since I work from my laptop, I’m still in ‘work mode’ when on my PC, even when I’m not working, thus it keeps me from relaxing. When I do, well, force myself to unplug, it’s a wierd mixture of freedom and uncertainty. Like, really, I can do what I want now, along with, what exactly am I going to do?

    Anyway, sounds good, go for it!

    Reply

  5. yeah, baby! bring on the focus and presence and priorities!

    Reply

  6. […] 12, 2009 by Adam Lehman Yesterday I wrote about a practice in getting offline. I wrote that I am going to work on dramatically reducing the amount of time I’m sitting in […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

