Why and How I’m Practicing Getting Offline

duty_callsYesterday I wrote about a practice in getting offline. I wrote that I am going to work on dramatically reducing the amount of time I’m sitting in front of a computer screen or cell phone. This isn’t a full blown lifestyle change, it is merely practice. Eprise and Justin left some questions on yesterday’s post asking “why” and “how” i was going to practice unplugging.

They “why” is pretty much summed up in this little cartoon from xkcd. I can spend all my day reading and responding to stuff people write on the internet. I can scour facebook, twitter, and blogs all day long and still not keep up with all the dialogue. I wonder if my intense web personality is costing me real life relationships. Could I have a more effective ministry if I unplugged a bit? I believe so. As Mark Ostreicher commented on my last blog post, “yeah, baby! bring on the focus and presence and priorities!” That is exactly why I’m going to practice getting offline.

The “how” part is a little bit more amibious. For one, I am still going to maintain my twitter account, my blog, and my facebook profile. I’m simply going to set strict limits for when I’ll be on them. Early in the morning and in the evening. If there is conversations that I’m missing online, so be it. I hope to spend less than an hour a day online.

3 responses to this post.

  1. interesting… and i like it. oddly, my immediate response (you know, the one in my head) was, huh, it’ll be interesting to read your blog on this… but, uhm, uh… lol. at some point though, seriously, i would like to hear what the impact is. i’ve been considering unplugging for a day a month, but then i wimp out. anyway… wishin ya the best 🙂

    Reply

  2. @eprise

    I’m not going to completely unplug from the internet, i’ll still blog/read blogs/facebook/email on a daily basis.

    I’m just going to limit my time a lot more intentionally.

    Reply

  3. Cool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

